top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNiamh cullen

Childhood Nostalgia within one enormous project.

This project has got to be my favourite one to date. A children's picture book based on folklore? Sign me up!

Okay, so I got to choose what this project was about, but still it was a dream to work on.

Every year Pan Macmillan host a student competition, inviting design students to design their own children's picture book and submit it to be up with the chance of winning a cash prize and London exhibit.


I decided I wanted to create a ‘children’s guide’ to folktales. This was a brilliant choice as it is something that interests me, so it meant I was enjoying the project and could self motivate myself easily. It was so much fun researching about figures in famous folklore such as The Tooth Fairy, Father Christmas and The Sandman. And then being able to bring these figures to life in my own illustrations was just so magical. As a child fairy tales and myths always fascinated me, you couldn't get my head out of the clouds on most days! Being able to reimagine this curiosity in a project was just pure magic.

This project also gave me some wonderful experience working on a professional children’s book brief where I could learn more about composition, writing, and design. The nature of the brief mean't I could only submit 4 fully polished pages, the rest having to be left as sketches. I would to love to revisit this concept at a later date and come out of it with a finished book!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page