top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNiamh cullen

Routledge Companion to Audiences and the Performing Arts.

This brief is a design competition for another Book cover. This time it was to create an image for the Routledge Companion to Audiences and the Performing Arts.

For this brief, they indicated that the theme was audiences and how audiences interact with the performer. This was quite a challenging brief due to the vagueness of the topic.

I struggled with this concept but eventually settled on diverting completely from any representational format and immerse myself in an abstract idea of the emotions and feelings that an audience member may feel when experiencing the arts.



I knew from the start that I wanted to take an abstract approach to this and I did this through paper cutting. I wanted to use different loose shapes and colours to represent the many emotions evokes by performances. I wanted to use strong colours against a black background because not only is it aesthetically pleasing but is also reminiscent of the bright colours, costumes and lights against the black backing of a performance space.

I then scanned all the different shapes into Photoshop. I did this so I could manipulate the shapes easily and form multiple compositions before deciding on a final one. I did this to pay a sort of mini homage to the contemporary arts in a way.

Book cover briefs like this are incredibly beneficial to me as it let me branch out into different genres in my practice and still experience different aspects of the design industry.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page